Qu’est-ce que le Festival de basketball We the West?

Le Festival de basketball We the West se veut une célébration décentralisée du basketball, de la musique et de l’art. Ce sera le plus grand événement sportif et culturel international au Canada en 2021. Il inspirera la reprise sociale et stimulera l’économie de la capitale de la province tandis que nous émergeons de la pandémie de COVID-19. We the West générera des bénéfices tangibles à Victoria et dans toute la région de la capitale sous forme de développement sportif et d’héritages social, culturel et économique.

Comment se déroulera le Festival de basketball We the West si la Colombie-Britannique n’a pas atteint la phase 4 de son plan de relance après la COVID-19?

Nous travaillerons en étroite collaboration avec notre Ville, les gouvernements provinciaux et nationaux ainsi qu’avec les autorités sanitaires pour nous assurer de suivre les directives et pour faire en sorte que toutes les personnes impliquées sont en sécurité. À l’approche de la date du festival, nous tiendrons tout le monde informé de ce à quoi ressemblera le festival en fonction de l’évolution rapide de l’environnement. Nous voulons donner à la population de la Colombie-Britannique la possibilité d’anticiper avec impatience la tenue d’un événement et si nous en interrompons la planification, nous ne pourrons pas atteindre cet objectif.

Ai-je besoin d’un billet pour assister au Festival de basketball We the West?

Pour l’instant, le seul élément du festival pour lequel un billet est requis est le Tournoi de qualification olympique de la FIBA. Au fur et à mesure que les détails de l’événement se confirmeront, nous mettrons à jour chaque page pour y ajouter des renseignements sur la billetterie. Les équipes qui participeront au Tournoi 3c3 Capital City devront payer un droit d’entrée.

Où le Festival de basketball We the West se déroulera-t-il?

Partout dans la région de la capitale! De l’arrière-port de Victoria au Victoria Memorial Centre en passant par les terrains de basketball en plein air de la région, le Festival de basketball We the West est un festival décentralisé qui s’étendra dans toutes la région du Grand Victoria. Au fur et à mesure que nous confirmerons les sites des éléments du festival, nous mettrons à jour le site Web pour y inscrire les renseignements les plus récents.

Que dois-je faire pour me porter bénévole pour le Festival de basketball We the West?

La période d’inscription des bénévoles pour le Festival de basketball We the West commencera en avril 2021. N’oubliez pas de vous inscrire à notre infolettre pour être parmi les premiers à recevoir des renseignements sur les possibilités de bénévolat.

Comment puis-je me tenir au courant au sujet du Festival de basketball We the West?

La meilleure façon de se tenir au courant de ce qui concerne le Festival de basketball We the West est de s’inscrire à notre infolettre. Vous pouvez également nous suivre sur Facebook, Twitter et Instagram.

CURRENT OPPORTUNITIES

The We The West Content Specialist will work with the Marketing Manager to plan, create, produce, and distribute original and engaging digital content, helping us reach our target audience by promoting our festival.

Scope of Work:

• Ideate and execute original digital content for We The West’s website and social media channels

• Capture quality photographs and video

• Edit original video into various content formats specific to social media channels (YouTube, Instagram stories, IGTV, Facebook, Twitter)

• Publish finalized content to various marketing channels

• Work with the marketing team to develop a robust content strategy aligned with the short- and long-term marketing goals

• Work with the Sponsorship team to produce co-branded content for our partner deliverables

• Work with various other stakeholders, including the Senior Project Manager, Lead Designer, and Mural Coordinator to ensure all aspects of the festival are being represented on marketing channels

• Analyze and report on content performance

• Create and upload content for We The West’s website when needed (built on Shopify)

• Provide additional support as needed by the Marketing Manager

Qualifications:

• Knowledge of basketball culture

• 3+ years shooting and editing video (Adobe Premiere Pro)

• Understanding of motion graphics

• Knowledge of YouTube Studio

• Ability to craft compelling stories 

• Excellent written and verbal communication skills

• Ability to manage a busy schedule and prioritize tasks without oversight

• Technical proficiency (Word, Excel, Airtable)

To Apply

Email your resume, cover letter, and examples of your past work to joinus@basketballfestival.ca

*This is a contract position so candidates must use their own videography equipment and editing software for the duration of the project.

FAQ

What is We the West Basketball Festival?

We the West Basketball Festival is a decentralized celebration of basketball, music, and art. It will inspire social recovery and stimulate the economy in the province’s capital city as we emerge from the COVID-19 pandemic. We The West will generate tangible benefits in Victoria and across the Capital Region in the form of sport development, social, cultural, and economic legacies.

How will We the West Basketball Festival take place if BC hasn’t reached Phase 4 of its COVID-19 Restart Plan?

We recognize the myriad of challenges that may lay ahead—both as a society and as new festival in a time of recovery. As BC, Canada, and the world continue their work and fight against COVID-19, we will be working closely with governments and health authorities to ensure that guidelines are followed in order to provide safe environments and experiences for everyone involved.

Do I need a ticket to attend the We the West Basketball Festival?

As of right now, the only element of the festival that is ticketed is the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournament. As more details are confirmed, we will update each page with ticketing information. There will be a fee for teams entering the 3X3 Coastal Clash Tournament.

Where will We the West Basketball Festival take place?

All across the Capital Region. From Downtown Victoria to the Victoria Memorial Arena to outdoor basketball courts around the region, We the West Basketball Festival is a decentralized festival that will take over the Greater Victoria area. As we confirm venues for each element of the festival, we will update the website with the latest information.

How do I volunteer for We the West Basketball Festival?

The volunteer registration period for We the West Basketball Festival will open in April 2021. Be sure to sign up for our newsletter to be the first to receive information on volunteer opportunities.

How can I keep up to date with We the West Basketball Festival news?

The best way to keep up to date with We the West Basketball Festival is to sign up for our newsletter (at the bottom of this page). You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.